Ferry and Highway Naming

The Transportation Commission is responsible for naming transportation facilities including, but not limited to: State highways; state highway bridges, structures, and facilities; state rest areas; and state roadside facilities, such as viewpoints Naming and Renaming State Transportation Facilities RCW 47.01.420

Facility Naming Policy

Commission Facility Naming Policy (pdf 119kb) on naming highways, bridges, and ferry terminals.

Ferry Naming Policy

The Commission has a Ferry Naming Policy and Process (pdf 94 kb) for naming ferries.
If you have questions, take a look at our Frequently Asked Questions (pdf 123 kb) which provides answers to many commonly asked questions.

NOTE: Resolutions approved by the Commission naming transportation facilities are available for each year going back to 2015.