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All-electronic tolling begins in spring 2011  
on the SR 520 bridge
When tolling begins on the State Route 520 bridge in spring 2011, there  
will be no tollbooths and no stopping or slowing to pay tolls. As you pass 
through the tolling area at highway speeds, the system automatically detects 
your Good To Go! Pass or license plate and deducts the toll from your account, 
or mails a bill to the registered owner of the vehicle. Tolls will vary by time of 
day, encouraging off-peak travel and improving traffic flow during the busiest 
times. Tolling revenue will help fund a new SR 520 bridge that is safer and more 
reliable when opened in 2014. 

Toll Rates 
On Jan. 5, 2011 the Washington State Transportation Commission approved 
the toll rates for the SR 520 Bridge. The following toll rates apply to two-axle 
passenger vehicles using the Good To Go! Pass. Detailed toll rates for larger 
multi-axle vehicles, and other payment options, including Pay By Mail, are 
available at www.wstc.wa.gov. 

•	 Peak period weekday rates – $3.50 each way (7 a.m. - 9a.m.; 3 p.m. - 6 p.m.)
•	 Off-peak rates (including weekends and specified holidays)  

range from $0 - $2.80 
•	 It is free to cross the bridge from 11 p.m. - 5 a.m. 

Toll rates are designed to:
•	 Maintain travel time, speed and reliability
•	 Generate some of the revenue necessary to cover operation and 

maintenance costs, and debt repayment related to the SR 520 bridge
•	 Increase 2.5 percent annually through 2016, to keep pace with cost 

increases – subject to commission review and possible adjustments  
up or down  

Toll Exemptions – vehicles that do not pay tolls
•	 Public and private transit buses 
•	 Registered ride sharing vans
•	 Emergency response vehicles that are responding to bona-fide emergencies 
•	 Washington State Department of Transportation maintenance vehicles 

directly involved with SR 520 bridge maintenance 
•	 Washington State Patrol vehicles providing enforcement services on the  

SR 520 corridor 
•	 Vehicles owned by foreign governments and international organizations  

(per requirements under federal law)
•	 Tow trucks when clearing a blocking vehicle on the bridge 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Information: Persons with disabilities may request this information be prepared and supplied in alternate formats by calling the Washington State Department of 
Transportation ADA Accommodation Hotline collect 206-389-2839. Persons with hearing impairments may access Washington State Telecommunications Relay Service at TTY 1-800-833-6388, Tele-Braille 
1-800-833-6385, Voice 1-800-833-6384, and ask to be connected to 360-705-7097.
Title VI Statement to Public: WSDOT ensures full compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 by prohibiting discrimination against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin or sex in 
the provision of benefits and services resulting from its federally assisted programs and activities. For questions regarding WSDOT’s Title VI Program, you may contact the Department’s Title VI Coordinator at 
360-705-7086.

Proposed Administrative 
Fees – covers costs only
In addition to approving the toll 
rates, the commission approved the 
following statewide fees to cover 
administrative costs associated with 
processing tolling transactions.  

•	 Paper statement and reprinting 
fees – $0.50 per page 
($1.50 minimum charge)

•	 Inactive account fee – $5
•	 Reprocessing fee – $5 per 

reminder notice to pay unpaid tolls
•	 Pay By Plate fee –  

$0.25 per transaction
•	 Customer-initiated payment – 

$0.50 per transaction credit off  
of the Pay By Mail toll rate

I-1053 implications
In light of the passage Initiative 1053 
the Commission’s action to approve 
these rates are subject to  
Legislative action.   

For more information  
on SR 520 Rate Setting 
www.wstc.wa.gov

Contact:  
Reema Griffith  
360-705-7070

To learn more about how  
tolling on SR 520 will work
www.goodtogo520.com
Contact: Janet Matkin 
WSDOT Communications 
matkinj@wsdot.wa.gov 


